How Astrology and Horoscopes Have Evolved


Horoscopes, and more specifically the whole science of astrology, have been a hotly debated topic for years. Created in ancient cultures, systems of reading the stars and the cosmos have always played an important part of ancient societies. Take the ancient Aztecs, Mayans, Babylonians, Greeks, or Egyptians for example.

The Great Pyramids, the only remaining wonder of the ancient world, heavily rely on the positions of the Sun and planets in its design, while other aspects of astrology have been incorporated into the architecture. Another example of celestial bodies being incorporated into the architecture of ancient civilizations is El Castillo at Chichen Itza, an ancient Mayan society.

The steps of the temple are aligned with the equinoxes, and on those days, it looks like serpents are running up and down the steps. There are a countless number of other examples of the positioning of celestial bodies incorporated into architecture, not only in ancient civilizations, but also in modern day society.

Horoscopes, for lack of a better word, are more or less a prediction of the future. The predictions are determined by the positions of certain celestial bodies, including the Sun, the Moon, the planets, though Earth is not included as a planet, asteroids, and even the metaphysical second moon of Earth, Lilith, with respect to their positions within certain constellations, determined by your time of birth.

The position of the Sun within these constellations is known as your star sign or Zodiac sign, though it can be referred to as a House. There are twelve zodiac signs, each which is named after characters in ancient Roman legends and myths.

They are Aries (The Ram), Taurus (The Bull), Gemini Cancer (The Crab), Leo (The Lion), Virgo (The Virgin), Libra (The Scale), Scorpio (The Scorpion), Sagittarius (The Centaur), Capricorn (The Sea-goat), Aquarius (The Pitcher), Pisces (The Fish). Each of these star signs has an Element, either Air, Fire, Water, or Earth, a ruling planet, and certain personality traits that the people born with this sign all share.

Today’s system of astrology and reading the stars is based on that created by the ancient Greeks, which is known as your horoscope. The word horoscope comes from the Greek words achoroac, meaning hours, and acskoposac, meaning to look at.

Though our current system of astrology is based on that of the Greeks, many horoscopes are still an interpretation of what the astrologer believes. These systems usually include Sun sing astrology or are based on the significance of calendar events. In most cases, the horoscopes that we see in news papers or magazines or online are predictions based on the position of the sun at the time of day the person was born, with respect to one of the twelve zodiac constellations.

These horoscopes are not as detailed as a complete horoscope, which takes into account the position of the Moon, the planets, and other celestial bodies. A complete horoscope can be surprisingly accurate if done right. Scope My Future now offers free daily horoscopes that can be emailed to you daily. These horoscopes are specific just to you.

Leave a Reply

Next Post

How Entertainment Kills One's Spiritual Link

As a spiritual person with a strong link to the Universal Spirit it leads and guides me throughout my life. The thing that quickly destroys that link is entertainment, particularly fiction. Whether people realise or not stories that come out of people’s heads are lies and they don’t work in […]
How Entertainment Kills One’s Spiritual Link

You May Like

Subscribe US Now